Disable “computer account password change” to prepare sequencing workstation

When preparing your sequencing workstation it is a best practise to set the “DisablePasswordChange” entry to 1. Especially when your sequencing workstation is a virtual machine and you want to revert to a previous snapshot or original configuration, this entry is very useful. If you do not set this entry and you revert to a previous snapshot, you have the problem that you cannot log on to the domain. The solution for this is log on locally, join the computer to a workgroup, join the domain again and reboot the machine. When doing a lot of sequencing work, this gets annoying.

What you have to do is the following:

Start Registry Editor. To do so, click Start, click Run, type regedit in the Open box, and then click OK.
Locate and then click the following registry subkey:
HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Services\Netlogon\Parameters
In the right pane, click the DisablePasswordChange entry.
On the Edit menu, click Modify. In the Value data box, type a value of 1, and then click OK.
Quit Registry Editor.

For more information see http://support.microsoft.com/kb/154501

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: